Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Spotlight: Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman

Please join Tessa Arlen as she tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours for Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman from January 5-February 6.

Publication Date: January 6, 2015
Minotaur Books
Formats: eBook, Hardcover

Genre: Historical Mystery

Add to GR Button

Lady Montfort has been planning her annual summer costume ball for months, and with scrupulous care. Pulling together the food, flowers and a thousand other details for one of the most significant social occasions of the year is her happily accepted responsibility. But when her husband’s degenerate nephew is found murdered, it’s more than the ball that is ruined. In fact, Lady Montfort fears that the official police enquiry, driven by petty snobbery and class prejudice, is pointing towards her son as a potential suspect.

Taking matters into her own hands, the rather over-imaginative countess enlists the help of her pragmatic housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, to investigate the case, track down the women that vanished the night of the murder, and clear her son’s name. As the two women search for a runaway housemaid and a headstrong young woman, they unearth the hidden lives of Lady Montfort’s close friends, servants and family and discover the identity of a murderer hiding in plain sight.

In this enchanting debut sure to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Tessa Arlen draws readers into a world exclusively enjoyed by the rich, privileged classes and suffered by the men and women who serve them. Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman is an elegant mystery filled with intriguing characters and fascinating descriptions of Edwardian life—a superb treat for those who love British novels.

A Party for Winston, the second book in the series to be released in January 2016.


Praise for Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman


“Tessa Arlen has a worthy debut with Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman. With a deliciously gruesome murder and an unlikely pair of sleuths, this is a treat for fans of Downton Abbey who will want to devour it with a nice steaming pot of Earl Grey.” —New York Times bestselling author Deanna Raybourn

“In her debut novel, Tessa Arlen weaves an evocative tale of the passions, loyalties and ambitions that divide and unite two classes, upstairs and downstairs, in a stately home. She instantly transports the reader to Edwardian England.”—Christine Trent, author of Stolen Remains

“A dash of noblesse oblige sparkles between the upstairs/downstairs world of Lady Montfort and her housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, as they work together to unmask the identity of a killer at large on the Montfort’s country estate. As sharp as a Nancy Mitford novel, Tessa Arlen’s sophisticated Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman deserves its place among the Great and the Good of classic mystery.”—Lyndsy Spence, founder of The Mitford Society and author of The Mitford Girls’ Guide to Life.

“Thoroughly enchanting. Arlen’s debut will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, with its vivid descriptions, firm grip on the intricacies of the time period, and skilled portrayal of the often complicated relationship between upstairs and downstairs.” —Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby mystery series


Buy the Book


Amazon (Kindle)
Amazon (Paperback)
Barnes & Noble (Nook)
Barnes & Noble (Paperback)
Book Depository
Books-a-Million
IndieBound
Kobo


About the Author


TESSA ARLEN, the daughter of a British diplomat, had lived in or visited her parents in Singapore, Cairo, Berlin, the Persian Gulf, Beijing, Delhi and Warsaw by the time she was sixteen. She came to the U.S. in 1980 and worked as an H.R. recruiter for the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee for the 1984 Olympic Games, where she interviewed her future husband for a job. DEATH OF A DISHONORABLE GENTLEMAN is Tessa’s first novel. She lives in Bainbridge Island, Washington.

For more information please visit Tessa Arlen’s website. Read Tessa Arlen’s blog at Redoubtable Edwardians. You can also connect with her on FacebookTwitter, andGoodreads.

Subscribe to Tessa Arlen’s Newsletter.


GIVEAWAY!


Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman Blog Tour Schedule


Monday, January 5
Review at Reading the Past
Review at Back Porchervations
Review & Giveaway at Mina’s Bookshelf


Tuesday, January 6
Review & Giveaway at Unshelfish
Review & Giveaway at The Maiden’s Court


Wednesday, January 7
Review & Giveaway at To Read, Or Not to Read
Spotlight at The Never-Ending Book


Thursday, January 8
Review at Buried Under Books


Friday, January 9
Review at Mel’s Shelves
Guest Post on The Writing Desk
Interview at Back Porchervations


Saturday, January 10
Review at With Her Nose Stuck in a Book


Monday, January 12
Review at Flashlight Commentary


Tuesday, January 13
Review at Girl Lost in a Book
Spotlight & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books


Wednesday, January 14
Review & Giveaway at The Book Binder’s Daughter


Thursday, January 15
Spotlight & Giveaway at Passages to the Past


Friday, January 16
Spotlight at Just One More Chapter


Monday, January 19
Review at Beth’s Book Book


Tuesday, January 20
Review at The Lit Bitch
Spotlight & Giveaway at Peeking Between the Pages


Wednesday, January 21
Spotlight & Giveaway at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Thursday, January 22
Review at Musings of a Bookish Kitty


Monday, January 26
Review at A Literary Vacation
Spotlight at CelticLady’s Reviews


Tuesday, January 27
Review & Giveaway at The True Book Addict


Wednesday, January 28
Review at A Book Geek


Thursday, January 29
Spotlight at What Is That Book About


Saturday, January 31
Review & Giveaway at The Calico Critic


Monday, February 2
Review at Book Nerd


Tuesday, February 3
Spotlight at I Heart Reading


Thursday, February 5
Review at Layered Pages


Friday, February 6
Guest Post & Giveaway at Historical Fiction Connection



2 comments:

  1. I keep seeing this book! It sounds like one that would be right down my alley!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! Getting feedback on my posts makes my day! Thanks for being here!